Message of the Day: God, Our Shepherd, Provides What’s Best For Us

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake
.” (Psalm 23:1-3, NKJV)

Psalm 23 is a profession of joyful trust in the Lord as the good Shepherd-King. The psalm may have accompanied a festival of praise at “the house of the Lord” (v.6) following a deliverance. As a shepherd leads his sheep in paths that offer safety and well-being, so David’s Shepherd-King guides him in ways that cause him to be secure and prosperous. The prosperity of the Lord’s servant brings honor to the Lord’s name.

God’s relationship with us is like that of a shepherd to his sheep. He provides what is best for us, refreshes us continually, and guides us in the way that he knows is right. In so doing he proves himself faithful and glorious.

Sources:

MySword for Android. Riversoft Ministry, 2011-2019.

The NKJV Bible

Zondervan NASB Study Bible. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Zondervan, 1999.

http://www.biblegateway.com

2 thoughts on “Message of the Day: God, Our Shepherd, Provides What’s Best For Us

  1. I was very stressed at my job till I took time on my lunch break to walk and pray through Psalm 23. My stress level dropped considerably.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment